General English

Develop your English language skills for work, leisure, travel or general interest. Year-round courses with flexible start dates and course lengths allow you to choose the best solution for you.

General English Intensive

Available in lengths of 2 to 23 weeks covering listening, speaking, vocabulary, reading, writing and grammar as well as special topics.

General English Year Abroad

Available in lengths of 24 to 48 weeks. An ideal way make real progress, develop your English skills and prepare for examinations such as Cambridge PET, First (FCE) and IELTS.

Why apply for this course?

  • Various start dates and course lengths
  • Accredited by the British Council for the teaching of English in the UK
  • Experienced staff will guide you through your studies to help you communicate effectively
  • INTO Gloucestershire is a Centre for Cambridge English Language Assessment
Apply

What is special about this course?

  • INTO Gloucester is the only centre that can accept beginners
  • Average class sizes of 10 students
  • High levels of personal attention and support from experienced staff
  • Take advantage of study resources and facilities available to structure your own programme of study outside the classroom
  • Learn about British culture
  • Use English in real-life situations by taking part in a range of activities and excursions (additional cost)

Ability levels

You'll be tested on arrival and assigned to a class that matches your ability. Teachers will monitor your progress regularly giving you the opportunity to move up levels as you improve.

If needed, free extra English classes are available at INTO Gloucestershire.

Other General English courses

Tailor-made and group courses

We can offer courses for groups based around our established courses or according to your group's specific requirements. Please contact us for further information.

Teaching English as a Foreign Language

We also run courses in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL), including the Cambridge CELTA (face-to-face and online). For more information please contact us.

What will I study?

Build your confidence and develop your everyday English language skills. A few weeks will refresh your English, and longer courses offer excellent value for real language development.

You will study:

  • speaking
  • listening
  • vocabulary
  • reading
  • writing
  • grammar

The course consists of 20 hours* per week.

Activities and excursions

Using your language skills in real-life situations is the best way to improve. You can take part in a range of activites (costs vary) that help you socialise with students from all over the world and build on your language studies.

*Please note: lessons are 1 hour and include time for class changeover.

How do I qualify?

English requirements:

Suitable for students from beginner to upper intermediate.

Age:

16 years minimum

If you are an absolute beginner, you must take one-to-one lessons (at additional cost) before joining a group, in order to prepare you for this course.

When can I start?

The General English course is very flexible. Choose a start date to suit you and select a course length to meet your needs. Course lengths vary between 2 to 48 weeks.

Mon 30 Oct 2017 Mon 06 Nov 2017
Mon 13 Nov 2017 Mon 20 Nov 2017
Mon 27 Nov 2017 Mon 08 Jan 2018
Mon 15 Jan 2018 Mon 22 Jan 2018
Mon 29 Jan 2018 Mon 05 Feb 2018
Mon 12 Feb 2018 Mon 19 Feb 2018
Mon 26 Feb 2018 Mon 05 Mar 2018
Mon 12 Mar 2018 Mon 09 Apr 2018
Mon 16 Apr 2018 Mon 23 Apr 2018
Mon 30 Apr 2018 Mon 14 May 2018
Mon 21 May 2018 Mon 04 Jun 2018
Mon 25 Jun 2018 Mon 02 Jul 2018
Mon 09 Jul 2018 Mon 16 Jul 2018
Mon 23 Jul 2018 Mon 30 Jul 2018
Mon 06 Aug 2018 Mon 13 Aug 2018
Mon 20 Aug 2018 Mon 17 Sep 2018
Mon 24 Sep 2018 Mon 01 Oct 2018
Mon 08 Oct 2018 Mon 15 Oct 2018
Mon 22 Oct 2018 Mon 29 Oct 2018
Mon 05 Nov 2018 Mon 12 Nov 2018
Mon 19 Nov 2018 Mon 26 Nov 2018

Course breaks

If you're on a longer course, you may like to take an optional break. A 2-week holiday is available for 24 to 35 week courses and 4 weeks for courses of 36+ weeks. Breaks can be confirmed when you book, or once you arrive, providing you give 4-week notice and receive approval.

Prices

Course length Cost
2 - 7 weeks £238 per week
8 - 15 weeks £221 per week
16 - 23 weeks £210 per week
24 - 35 weeks £202 per week
36 - 48 weeks £195 per week
Apply

Additional fees:

Enrolment fee of £50

Accommodation is not included in the fees. View our accommodation options.

Search
General, UK and China enquiries: +44 (0)1273 876 040 [email protected]
© COPYRIGHT 2017 | INTO UNIVERSITY PARTNERSHIPS LTD AND IUP 2 LLP 沪ICP备14028023号-3 Legal & Privacy | Terms | INTO Sitemap